Friday, December 31, 2010

Happy New Year! (Redneck Style)

Happy New Year Everybody!.....I'm celebrating redneck style this year! Build a big fire....round up some buddies....pop a few tops on some brewskeeeees.........let the good times roll!........................................Oh yeah.........and hope no one driving by calls the sheriffs department because of the burn ban that's in effect!

Who are we kidding?......................Half a bottle of wine and these people will be asleep long before the New Year rolls in!

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

No "Business" Outside Today!

We were  prisoners for most of the day....cooped up inside the house like  chickens in the hen house.
When the peeps got home, they let us out to run and play and .....you know....do our "business".
It was a pretty afternoon but I really had no official "business" outside that I needed to attend to. I already had accessed the pee pad and then hid a pile in the shower. ......I'm trying to teach these people that they shouldn't leave me all day!


Rascal told me to help him find some critters

but I wasn't interested

I had absolutely no "business" out here today!








Rascal tells me that he sometimes finds rust lizards back here behind the big guy's shop

But .......I had no "business" there











.....and sometimes a mouse or two

 where he planted an avocado tree


But .......I had no "business" there








Rascal even tried to get me to help him

 find a way into the chicken pen.

But, I definitely had no "business" there!

Too much work chasing chickens!

He can catch them................

I can't!





Believe me!

I tried to find a spot to do my "Business"!

....couldn't find my spot though.......


I looked and looked..........

just couldn't find a spot.





Hey!.....I looked!

Couldn't find a spot........

No spot to be found........

You can let me in now please.

No "business" outside today!

Do I still get a treat?!

I was out there a really long time.
             (I should get a treat)

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Santa!

Well whatdayaknow! .....there is a Santa Claus!...........and he caught me while I was looking for the milk and cookies they left for him!......

I didn't see him come down the chimney!
I didn't see him come through the door!
But as I was lookin for his milk and cookies
He somehow snuck across the floor!

He patted his head
And then he rubbed his belly
And he quietly let out a snicker
Said he'd ate the cookies
Said he'd drank the milk
Said he'd filled the stockings with glitter

Then he turned around
Tapped a foot on the ground
And then just like he came
He twitched his nose
And he tugged his beard
And up the chimney he rose

I wouldn't have believed it
If I truly hadn't seen it
With my very own eyes it's true
Ole Santa came to see me
And he ate the milk and cookies
And that left me sad and blue.......

Merry Christmas Y'all

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Weight Loss Promts Fashion Show!


I got to go for a ride today! Rascal had an appointment with the vet so I got to go along. Course I had no idea where we were heading until we got there! I think Rascal knew what was up because he barked all the way into town. I got kinda nervous when I realized where we were at after we got there.                              
Not to worry....... Rascal was the one they wanted!.....He got some shots!.......But he was relieved that was all he got. I think he was afraid they were gonna look for worms or something .........Well lets just say he didn't bark all the way home like he did going in.    Me?.....They just hoisted me onto the scale to see how much I weighed!....Talk about embarrassing! There it was in big red digital letters for everyone to see! I won't tell you how much I weigh but I will proudly say that it was 2.3 lbs less than the last time they weighed me! .......................YES!!!


Anyway..... losing some weight made me feel like a little fashion show.   What do you think?................I think the stripes make me look fat...................Plaid is the way to go.................... in my opinion anyway.

You know....this time of the year you can't go wrong with the traditional Santa Suit.......Red looks good on most anyone and besides.....If you happen to be a few pounds overweight....it fits the jolly ole elf theme.  You know "belly shook like a bowl full of jelly"        Maybe since I've lost a couple of pounds I could treat myself to something special!........Maybe a Christmas cookie.............or some smoked turkey...........or...............oh well.................


Changing directions..........Denise and Paul stopped in to see me last Monday morning on their way from San Antonio back to Lafayette LA. It's always good to see some of my old friends. It was awful early and the visit was short but they brought it down to my level with the love. Thanks guys! I appreciate y'all stopping by for a visit.....even if you didn't bring me any pee pads or chicken treats. Come on back anytime. 


Sunday, December 19, 2010

Busy Weekend

Audrey and Mike came in to visit for the weekend.
They will be in East Texas for Christmas this year with Mikes folks so they came in for Christmas this weekend with us....
Of course they brought 4 of their dogs so we had a good time .....You know doing what dogs do.....
everybody barking when one dog barks....even though we don't know what the first dog started barking at.
Sniffing each others butts........I'm not sure why we do that, but always seems like something that has to be done............

On Saturday all the peeps left us dogs at the house while they went in for lunch at Dragon Place. They then came home and Mike helped the big guy cut some firewood.....then they went back to town and ate at El Ranchito. .......I had dog food.........

On Sunday I got some special treatment!
Tabi came out and I got a bath, my ears cleaned and my toe nails trimmed.

Yeah....I didn't say I liked it.......


Tabi does a really good job!

I'm not sure that locking my jaws shut is all that necessary......I wouldn't bite anyone...........

Owwwwww!....grrrrraaaaaawwwwwwhhhhhhh

All the dogs had to go through the same ordeal.
Even Audrey's dogs......bath.....toe nails clipped

Oh well............ glad it's over with



I didn't really like all this beatification you know.........

But at least I went willingly................

They had to go looking for Dixie when it came her time.

She was lucky she didn't get thrown into the washing machine!



Rascal didn't think he needed anything like a bath or nail trimming either..............

He tried to get Audrey to help plead his case........


Didn't work............I am happy to report he also got the works!





I'm getting ready for some real excitement next weekend!....I hear Santa is coming to see us and that he makes a very special stop here! Maybe some hamburgers?.........meatloaf?.........ice cream?.....PEE PADS!?

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Warm and Toasty!

Nice!.......This is the warmest place I've found here. The tile floors in this house make it near impossible to find a warm and cozy spot on a cold winter day. ..........but.....with a little help from my friends........ I managed to get into a warm situation!........Now if I just had a hamburger....some fries and a chocolate malt I'd have it made.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Please Leaf Me Alone

It's a nice day for a stroll in the Yard through the leaves.

 My belly had a little itch that needed scratching.......................


Really now.....When will these leaves be over and done?!






Watch this Rascal!......

These leaves are pretty deep!

..................Last one in is a stink bug!

I can't believe you're not gonna follow me......







Ok...........I may have gone in .....

a little too far............

Can't feel the ground!......

Where's the ground?!......................

Hope no one has a match!.........

Not too fond of HOT DOGS!




Looks like Rascal is
contemplating the leaf pile.....


Is there a lizard in there?................







Ohhhhhhh....I see.................

You gotta hit it fast and hard!

Well ......maybe another day Rascal.

I think I'll go back inside and take a nap...

Leaves it seems...... make me sleepy.......

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Varmits in the Yard

I have mentioned several times about all the critters out here in the country............

Today I thought I'd post a few pictures to show what We've seen lately.

A squirrel got in the chicken pen the other day.............
Of course it goes unsaid that Rascal had a fit!

I heard all the commotion from the house....




As far as I was concerned, it wasn't worth dragging my belly through the leaves and acorns to get there to see...............
..............Seen one squirrel you seen em all!

Rascal got really ticked off when the peeps put him in the house with me, herded the chickens into the chicken house and then let the squirrel get out of the pen.





Rascal found another critter today. They called it a spreading adder. I say call it what it is..........It's A Snake People!..........Glad that Rascal found it and not me!    He seems to go looking for these critters!

Very interesting..................not poisonous......Rascal was pretty wary of it

They flatten their head like a cobra......way cool but I was glad I was not asked to participate for any fotos.....looks kinda spooky to me........











I heard that the big guy put the snake in a bucket and carried it off far from the house and turned it loose.          No need to kill nonpoisonous snakes....too many mice and rats in the neighborhood...
Way to go Big Guy!

Thursday, December 2, 2010

I Had A Dream!

  Oh Dog! Oh Dog! Oh Dog! I had myself a dream last night! In the first part of the dream, I was a beautiful black and white Border Collie, and I was responsible for a small flock of sheep which was located in the rolling hills of Southeastern Montana. Every day and night I'd run, and run, and run keeping all those sheep together. I was my own dog.....in total control....very proud and athletic! Life there in my dream was great! I had the wide open Montana countryside, fresh air, great exercise, beautiful scenery, and a few rowdy sheep to boss around. Life was great!
  Of course in my dream, I wasn't overweight. I was sleek and trim because I got plenty of exorcise while controling those sheep and chasing off coyotes that would try to steal them away.

Then I woke up .....had to utilize the pee pad, don't you know.

..........went back to sleep and the second part of my dream kicked in. Without a doubt, absolutely the best part of my dream....... I dreamed that I came inside from chasing sheep and coyotes for some grub. ...... and much to my amasement what did I find?
A Hamburger, French Frys, Butter Fingers and Baby Ruths! WOW!

But alass it was not to be......... for .......a dream was all it was
A dream and nothing more

And when upon the morn I arose
It was Dog Food on the floor

AGAIN!




Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Cow Dog.....Not

  You know I told you earlier that I'm a city dog.....or rather.... I used to be a city dog. I grew up in the city with city noises...city smells, city critters....you know...city ways.
   I could always count on the garbage truck varooming down the street until he'd hit the air brakes at our place and guys would jump off the truck, grab the trash can and empty it into the back of the truck. I never knew where they took our trash ......just knew I didn't have to smell it anymore.

  There was also the occasional squirrel that would taunt me in the front yard from time to time. And, back in the day....before I put the weight on, I'd come close to catching one every once in a while. Boy, that would throw everyone into a panic, let me tell ya! How dare a little dog try to catch a squirrel!...It's bred into me I tell ya!
  
Yeah...here in the country we have different noises, smells and critters and yes....we have country ways.
 I still hear a garbage truck come by...least I think that's what it is. It's a little further away, but I can make out the same ole sounds, if it's quiet here in the house when it makes it's stop.
   They have some real big critters here too! They call them cows.......biggest darned things on four legs I ever have seen.  Woo dog! Those things can leave a pile of poop behind that could cover a pee pad plenty!

There's a reason they don't let cows in the house!

I'll stay on my side of the fence and I hope they stay on theirs.

What can they possibly be good for?!

............bet they can't even chase a ball.....

I'm just saying....................